Wednesday, March 18, 2015


President Goodluck Jonathan on Wednesday Sworn In eight new ministers, recently confirmed by the upper chamber of the country's House of Assembly.

Punch reported that the inauguration was carried out before the commencement of the weekly Federal Executive Council meeting in the Aso Rock villa, Abuja.

President Jonathan assigned the various portfolios to newly sworn in ministers as follows: Prof. Nicholas Ada (Minister for State, Foreign Affairs I); Senator Musiliu Obanikoro (Minister for State, Foreign Affairs II); Senator Patricia Akwashiki (Minister for Information); Col. Augustine Akobundu (retd.) (Minister for State, Defence); Mr. Fidelis Nwankwo (State, Health); Mrs. Hauwa Bappa (State, Niger Delta Affairs); Mr. Kenneth Kobani (State, Industry, Trade and Investment); and Senator Joel Ikeya (Labour and Productivity).

The President reportedly named the Minister of State, Health, Khaliru Alhassan, as the Minister of Health.

Recall that Alhassan has been acting on the portfolio of the Supervising Minister of Health after Prof. Onyebuchi Ckukwu reportedly left office in 2014.

There has been strong criticism and resistance from concerned Nigerians and group over the ministerial list that was reportedly submitted to the National Assembly by President Goodluck Jonathan.

The main reason for the criticism of the ministerial list was the inclusion of the former Minister of Defence, Senator Musliu Obanikoro, which made a civil society group, known as All Nigeria Save Democracy Movement (ANSD), kicked against the ministerial nomination of the latter.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Drop Comments
*Comments on this blog are NOT posted by ANY STAFF OF ENEKEM.
*ENEKEM Readers are SOLELY responsible for the comments they post on